Despite driving like a pro, you may end up in an accident in Tucson that wasn’t your fault. Such crashes, collisions, and fender benders are not unusual in Arizona. Since Arizona is a fault state, the driver responsible for the accident is liable for your losses. You can file a claim with their insurer to get financial compensation for your suffering. Like anyone else, you may have many questions in mind, like-
- What if I was partly at fault for the accident?
- What if I am not sure how the accident happened?
- Do I need to get a lawyer?
- How do I prove liability and fault?
- Do I need to report the accident?
In this post, we are answering some of these basic questions and why you should hire a Tucson auto accident attorney.
Contributory negligence in Arizona
AZ follows the pure comparative fault rule like many other states. If you were at fault, your settlement would be reduced by a percentage of fault. For example, when you are 40% at fault and given $50,000 in a settlement, you will eventually get $30,000. Insurance companies often use this as an excuse to delay or even deny claims, and you need to protect your rights and interests.
You don’t have a lot of time
The statute of limitations in the state allows two years to file injury lawsuits after an accident. If you miss the deadline, the court will most certainly refuse to entertain your case, except in very rare circumstances.
Proving fault and liability
To win a car accident claim, you need to prove three important things –
- The other driver owed you a duty of care, which they neglected.
- You suffered injuries because of their negligence.
- Your damages stem from your injuries and losses.
Why do you need an accident attorney?
It is not easy to negotiate a fair settlement with the insurance company, especially because they have ways and tactics to deny and delay claims. Not to forget, if the matter ends up in trial, they have the best lawyers working for them. Work with an accident attorney so that you can get a settlement sooner. More importantly, your lawyer wouldn’t settle for anything less than what you deserve, and if needed, they will file a civil lawsuit against the party at fault.
Most personal injury lawyers in Tucson work on a contingency basis, and therefore, you don’t need to pay the attorney until you win a settlement.